Heart to Heart

Today is June 5th, 2013. This marks one year anniversary of the hardest day in my life. This time last year I was at the Children’s Hospital Los Angeles (CHLA)  praying with friends and family to have God guide the surgeon’s and staffs hands for Royal’s open heart surgery. A little back story if you did not know, Royal was born with a congenital heart defect called an AV canal. This means that blood could move freely among the four heart chambers, mixing oxygen-rich (red) blood with oxygen-poor (blue) blood (from CHLA). He was admitted at 6am and in surgery for about four hours. Four hours does not seem like a long time when you say it, though that could have been two years to me. Time stood still and when it did move, it was at a snails pace. I thank God every day for having our family there with us while we waited, talking about my younger days, listening to other’s stories, and having general discussions to keep me calm and grounded.

During this time and up till the surgery God and I found each other.  Like most people in stressful times we find our faith again or dig deeper into it. I thank God every single day for bringing Royal into my life. Everything that has and will happen with Royal is an act of God’s love, a labor of love if you will. Royal has taught me more in this past year and a half about life and God’s love. If you want to see the power of prayers, take a look at Royal. Most doctors said that he should not even be here or would not make it. They obviously do not know our God. Our God can move any mountain!

With all of this I know that Royal is here to accomplish great things! God told me in my darkest hour, during our 22 day stay at CHLA, to dry my eyes, continue singing the promises over Royal, and to be patient for Royal is coming home. So today we celebrate God’s grace and love for bringing Royal into this world and home with us. With every smile Royal gives I can see pure love! Join me in a prayer of thanks to God and Jesus for being with us. Royal is stronger than ever and keeping up with him is an awesome challenge. After two open heart surgeries this boy is set to show the world who is boss!

2 thoughts on “Heart to Heart

  1. Royal is a huge inspiration for us. He is so full of life and love and smiles that can melt the hardest heart. God’s love absolutely glows through Royal. I can’t wait to see how God will bless others through him.

  2. Royal is holding everyone of us as if he were holding a bunch of balloons on strings…. he sure is a blessing to us. I love him dearly.

Leave a Reply

